Oakleaf Hydrangea – A Vintage Southern Garden Charmer

 

???????????????????????????????

From the McCain garden

In the South, the hydrangea reigns as the quintessential garden flower starting about mid-May and continuing into the early fall. I can never seem to get enough of them, and constantly peruse Dothan’s garden district as well as other areas for their captivating blooms.  Hydrangea quercifolia commonly referred to as oakleaf hydrangea,  are peaking right now in our area’s gardens.  Oakleafs, which can grow as tall as 6 feet and up to 8 feet wide, have creamy elongated clusters of cone-shaped blooms.  Felder Rushing, a Mississippi horticulturist and author, warns against “whacking” oakleaf hydrangeas.  His recommendation is to simply thin unwanted branches after the summer blooms have died.  An added bonus of this deciduous schrub is the rust colored foliage that appears in the fall – great for floral design.

  It seems, this year, I had only to go out for a run in my very own neighborhood to capture some of the most stunning oakleaf hydrangeas ever.  Dana and Scooter McCain’s lovely shaded garden is home to some of the loveliest oakleaf  hydrangeas that I’ve ever laid eyes on. I resisted the urge to do a little “judicial pruning”!  But, for the last few weeks, I have admired them – capturing them on my phone’s camera as well as going back with my Canon.  I believe the variety she has is “Snowflake”.  I have admired her oakleafs for several years.  I think you will  agree ….

 

????????

????????

????????

????????

 

A few more lovely pictures I took on my morning run today..

???????????????

???????????????

???????????????

 

At a recent garden club meeting, Cathy Denney shared the fruits of her labor with this captivating arrangement from her gorgeous garden, incorporating oakleaf hydrangeas and one of my favorite types of greenery, variegated Pittosporum.

????????

 

????????

 

Admire the colossal blooms in the Georgia garden of Becky Byrd..

10457723_282872968557398_5963095052896750575_o

 

 

Oakleaf hydrangeas are often described as having a truly Southern soul.  Their  blooms seem to illuminate shady gardens in the summer…

 

Below are a few more oakleaf hydrangea images I captured in the Dothan’s garden district . . .

???????? ???????? ????????

???????? ????????

????????

 

Oakleaf hydrangas are very happy in the garden of Kathy and Bob Cleveland!  Their shaded, woodland garden is conducive to some of the largest oakleafs I have seen.  Kathy has wonderful collection of garden statuary, and I couldn’t resist creating a few uncontrived arrangements with the oakleafs and some of her French Lace Cap hydrangeas.

 

???????? ???????? ????????

????????

????????

???????? ????????

????????

????????

????????

 

“Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom”.  – Marcel Proust

 

 

8 thoughts on “Oakleaf Hydrangea – A Vintage Southern Garden Charmer

  1. Beautiful, stunning arrangements. I so enjoy!!!. Thanks for using your creativeness and sharing the beauty you see and do.

  2. Gorgeous, Mary Lise. I only have one oakleaf, but it is HUGE. I need to plant some more – I love them and you are right, they are beautiful dried in the fall.

    • I drove by your house the other day, and your yard is even more beautiful that it was a couple of weeks ago. Your endless summers are captivating! More photo opps soon. Thanks for your sweet comments!

Leave a comment