Christmas Camellias

Camellias rank up in my top three favorite flowers, and I jump at the opportunity to cut them.  One such opportunity came yesterday when Jennifer and Joe Steever invited me to cut from their garden to do an arrangement for our church’s worship service today.  When they moved into their garden district home many years ago, forty camellias bushes were an instant garden treasure.  Joe points out that he knew nothing about camellias initially, but joined the local Camellia Society to learn more about growing them.  And indeed he has been successful!

IMG_2601IMG_2602

 

A vintage variety known as Debutante, heavily laden with the most exquisite, luminous blooms ever, was the bush we chose to cut from. The blooms are reminiscent of fluffy, pink ballerina tutus.  The blooms take center state, dancing their way across the green foliage.  Simply breathtaking!

IMG_2616IMG_2606

IMG_2603

The blooms were carefully inserted into water picks after cutting.

IMG_2630

These gorgeous blooms even make a statement on my Christmas wreath (for a few minutes!)

IMG_2651

The camellias were inserted into a water soaked base of oasis surrounded by fresh Magnolia, Asparagus fern, Tea Olive, and Aucuba – also from the Steever’s garden.

IMG_2672

IMG_2662

“And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for He has looked on the humble estate of this servant.  For behold, from now on all generations will call me blessed; for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and Holy is His Name.  And His mercy is for those who fear Him from generation to generation.” (Luke 1:46-50, Mary’s Song)

IMG_2674IMG_2675IMG_2682

 

9 thoughts on “Christmas Camellias

  1. This is great I’ve sent this to two people in the Atlanta area one is named blue and one is named Bonnie if you hear from them you know who they are. I’m proud that the Camillia is the Alabama state flower! Love you lots Lisa

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Some people might understand my statement, but I just had a moment of worship as I looked at the beautiful creation of God through your photos and your scripture. Thank you for using your gift to honor the Lord and bring joy to others.

  3. Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos. Camellias are my favorite flower. Blooming in winter they are a symbol of hope. Such examples of purity and beauty. They are truly one of God’s many blessings.

Leave a Reply

