A Host of Hydrangeas

???????????????????????????????

 

I especially look forward to mid-May when the lacy heads of the first hydrangeas of the season start appearing.  If you have read my blog even for just a short time, you probably know that the hydrangea is perhaps my very favorite flower.  I love the delicate flower clusters which we are able to enjoy literally for months in our part of the country.  Hydrangeas are the quintessential flower for floral design in my opinion.  They are magnificent in simple vases filled with water as well as in  arrangements requiring floral oasis. ‘ Limelight Hydrangea’ is my very favorite hydrangea, but I will have to wait a few more weeks for their heavenly blooms to appear.   All through the year, I purchase hydrangeas from florists and flower markets, while at the same time, relishing the dried blooms I harvested from the precious summer.  I have a few ‘Endless Summer’ Hydrangeas in my garden, but I am most fortunate to have friends that invite me to cut and photograph blooms from their bountiful gardens.  Almost every hydrangea species seems to thrive down here in lower Alabama.   Clearly, you will be seeing several more posts this summer about hydrangeas!

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

 

A friend and seasoned gardener, Kathleen Rane, whose garden I featured last year, has had tremendous success with growing hydrangeas in her garden as well as in pots on her shaded deck.  I had to share these lovely hydrangeas from last summer.  The potted hydrangeas have done well for the last 4 years or more.  Click on the link to see more of her lovely garden:  

 https://beautifulgardener.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/a-garden-that-nurtures-the-soul/

????????

????????

????????

 

 I decided to plant a couple of hydrangea in pots  this year.  It’s has only been about 6 weeks, but they are showing some promise!  I can only hope that mine will do as well as Kathleen’s cascading pot which is pictured above.

 

The humble beginnings of my potted hydrangeas, ‘Endless Summer- Blushing Bride’ are on the left  followed by the picture on the right made about 6 weeks later. (Yes, I had already cut a few blooms when the picture was made!)

????????    ????????

 

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

 

 

The hydrangea shown below was a gift last year, and it stayed in the original clay pot all year long.

 

???????????????????????????????

????????

????????

I placed the clay pot in a decorative urn.  This is a great idea for entertaining – indoors or outside!

????????

????????

 

Pairing hydrangeas with variegated hosta or other greenery creates a beautiful and quick tablescape.  I used pewter Jefferson cups and some pewter pieces that belonged to my Mother.

???????? ???????? ????????

????????

 

My friend, Christy Keyton, has a fabulous hydrangea garden in her shady yard, and she allowed me to cut stems for a recent reception that I helped with.  I placed some of the blooms in this lovely birdbath to create a “gardenscape”!

????????

 

Hydrangeas arranged in pottery and rustic containers make enticing naturally inspired arrangements.  I , of course, favor Mississippi pottery such as the McCarty pieces pictured here.

????????

Another simple hydrangea arrangement with magnolia and ‘Endless Summer’ hydrangea in a tole container.

????????

 

Look at the blooms in your yard (or a friend’s) to create your own sensational garden arrangment..

 

 

??????????????????????????????? ???????? ????????

????????

????????

 

 

“Life already has so many boundaries and pressures – why add more in the garden?”  Felder Rushing,

10th-generation Southern gardener, author, and horticulturist

3 thoughts on “A Host of Hydrangeas

    • Hydrangeas are definitely a garden staple down here in the lower South. They are my favorite flowering shrub. A variety called ‘Limelight’ is just beginning to bloom which is my very favorite. I will be posting pictures of these soon. Thanks so much for reading my blog. God bless!

Leave a Reply

