Roses for Remembrance

Although these garden pictures of my Knock Out roses were made over almost four weeks ago, I thought it would be fitting to post these today on Memorial Day as we pay tribute to those Americans in the armed forces who sacrificed their lives for our freedom as well as to those loved ones who are no longer with us.  I don’t have the skills or patience to grown hybrid roses, however, this year the knockout roses in my yard and in other gardens around town have been unusually pretty.  I don’t know if the unseasonably cold winter weather had something to do with their vibrant blooms.  I’d like to think that my adding Triple 13 fertilizer this spring as suggested by a Memphis Rosarian may have made the difference!

Pictured below are a few blooms from my garden that were photographed the end of April and first of May . . .

 

????????

????????

????????

????????

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

Maurine Johnston’s pink knockouts  were show stoppers!

???????? ????????

 

In past years I never even considered using knock Out roses in arrangements, and regarded them more of a landscape rose.  However, I was amazed at our strong the stems and at the vivid red and pink hues from this spring’s bounty.  I chose simple glass and crystal containers that didn’t require floral oasis, and I was amazed that some of the roses were pretty after five days or so.

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

 

????????

I couldn’t resist placing stems in two pots of Asiatic Jasmine that are in my back garden area.

 

????????

 

????????

????????

 

Endless Summer Hydrangea, Confederate Jasmine,  and Red Knock Outs make a lovely patriotic floral design..

????????

 

Veteran’s Honor was a favorite rose of my Daddy’s, and my Mother often arranged these in vases for his office.  These two photographs were taken a couple of weeks ago in the Dothan Botanical Garden’s rose garden.

???????? ????????

 

Today I find myself reflecting on my Daddy’s life.  He served in the navy for two years, and the GI bill enabled him to complete college and medical school in the early 1950’s.  Men and women of this generation seem to be set apart.  Tom Brokaw reflects on their uniqueness:

“They came of age during the Great Depression and the Second World War and went on to build modern American – men and women whose everyday lives of duty, honor, achievement, and courage gave us the world we have today.”

 

PICTURES OF DADDY 001

 

  “I don’t have to tell you how fragile this precious gift of freedom is. Every time we hear, watch, or read the news, we are reminded that liberty is a rare commodity in this world.” – President Ronald Reagan

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Roses for Remembrance

Leave a Reply

