A ROSE GARDEN OF MEMORIES

Going back to my Mississippi home is always a little bittersweet.  My Mother (who was the inspiration for my blog) was a renown gardener, rosarian,and floral designer in her community. At one point there were about 150 bushes in her garden showcase of roses.  Although she grew many perennials, her roses were the stars!  I was always welcomed home with seasonal garden delights lovingly arranged in a beautiful container in my bedroom.  From May to sometimes even Thanksgiving, her roses were plentiful, and she delighted in sharing them with our family.  Many times roses were cut and saved in the refrigerator right before the season’s first frost.  Mother definitely had the art of cultivating roses down to a science.  Although the garden has been neglected since her death, I did capture some gorgeous first blooms when I was visiting mid-May.

This antique Chestnut rose was one of my Mother’s favorites, and originated from her maternal grandmother.  Through the years, she shared cuttings with many other friends who are today enjoying bushes of this caliber.

IMG_9748 IMG_9749 IMG_9753 IMG_9755 IMG_9758

The miracle of the first seasonal blooms. Many of the rose bushes are over 20 years old.  In spite of having minimal care,  some of the blooms were extravagant..

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

My Daddy wanted me to do an arrangement for the residents to enjoy at the assisted living facility where he now lives.  Ever generous,  Mother shared  arrangements with friends in hospitals and nursing homes, sometimes several times a week.  With all of the lovely blooming roses and perennials in her garden, I felt inspired!

IMG_9707 IMG_9709 IMG_9712 IMG_9714 IMG_9724

IMG_9737 IMG_9723

IMG_9732

When walking through my Mother’s garden, I am always reminded of the pride she had in growing her beloved roses.  Her garden, very much therapeutic at times, was a place of reflection and solitude for her.  And, she shared her amazing God given gifts with us all.  And, maybe, for just a few minutes, while arranging the flowers on the terrace overlooking her garden, I felt a little piece of her spirit infused in me….

IMAG0671

9 thoughts on “A ROSE GARDEN OF MEMORIES

    • I really want to see your sweet Mother’s garden one day. Your yard is gorgeous, too, and I know you get inspiration from her as well. I’d love to come make some pictures in your garden! Thanks for reading, Christy!

  1. You definitely had a lovely mother, no doubt…and you are very much like her! Even though I never had the pleasure of meeting her, I know you two are kindred spirits! Love our Mamas! Beautiful blog! Thanks for sharing!

  2. All such beautiful roses, Mary — your mother was very talented indeed, and so are you! The rose bush in the very top picture is beautiful beyond words. All of the roses look fabulous, and my favorite are the little peach beauties on the arched trellis. Your show-stopping gorgeous arrangement brought pure joy to everyone who saw it at the facility I’m sure, and your father was no doubt so proud and honored by your thoughtfulness and the memory of your mother in every bloom!

Leave a Reply

