TIME FOR THE LIMELIGHTS

It’s that time of year when my very favorite Limelight hydrangeas are bursting into bloom!   Two weeks ago, while the foliage looked healthy, the blooms weren’t even close to making their summer show.  I blogged about Limelights from my 2012 garden back in January of this year  (https://beautifulgardener.wordpress.com/2013/01/29/limelight-hydrangea-the-garden-gift-that-gives-all-year-rou.   

Hopefully, this year’s blooming season will be as explosive as last years and provide gorgeous blooms into the early fall. In the following pictures you can follow the progression of the blooms.  They start out chartreuse and then mature to a creamy white. I still enjoy the dried blooms from last year – sage green, sometimes tinged with pink. I can’t wait to start cutting these beauties. I promise that this will not be the last post you see on Limelights!  They are an obsession of mine.  In fact,  I think I could be happy having a yard filled with nothing else..

????????

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

???????? ????????

What a huge difference the last few days of heavy rain and intermittent sunshine have made!  I will have to admit that I have been a little impatient this year for them to bloom.  They are a few weeks later than last year, and I had anticipated using them last weekend for a wedding I helped with. However, I am continually reminded that God’s timing is impeccable and perfect – even in our gardens. I am forever more conscious of the fact that our gardens constantly can teach us lessons about walking in faith with the Master Gardener, and to wait patiently for His timely provisions for our lives.

Enjoy your Sunday, and enjoy these inspirational quotes by Elizabeth Elliot:

“Waiting on God requires the willingness to bear uncertainty, to carry within oneself the unanswered question, lifting the heart to God about it whenever it intrudes upon one’s thoughts.”

“God is God.  Because He is God, He is worthy of my trust and obedience.  I will find rest nowhere but in His holy will that is unspeakably beyond my largest notions of what He is up to.”

3 thoughts on “TIME FOR THE LIMELIGHTS

    • Thanks, Susan! Everyday my limelights seems to be getting prettier. However, some of them in other areas of my yard are just barely beginning to bloom. I would love to see yours. Happy 4th!

  1. Pingback: Back Yard Garden Early July | Ted,s Photographs

Leave a Reply

