THE ALLURE OF BLUE AND WHITE HYDRANGEAS

Hydrangeas are, without a doubt, my favorite flower. I can never get enough of  this quintessential Southern garden flower.  My sister in Athens, Ga, has raised gorgeous hydrangeas for years now.  She recently shared some pictures of her beautiful Endless Summer blooms.

????????????? ???

This hydrangea is definitely on my garden wish list.  The pristine white blooms of  her Incrediball hydrangeas are unbelievable!  The Incrediballs were marketed several years ago as an improvement over the popular Annabelle.

??? ???

Pictured below are glorious hydrangea beds photographed near Tupelo, Mississippi, at the Covenant Hospice House.  They truly were worth stopping for!

???????? ???????? ????????

With the abundant supply of hydrangeas, a quick summer tablescape is easy and rewarding to do. 

Hydrangeas are best cut early in the morning, and conditioned in a bucket of warm water for a few hours before arranging.

????????

These Endless Summer hydrangeas were cut in my yard, and placed in a classic garden urn.

???????? ???????? ????????

However, one of my favorite pairings is silver or pewter containers with blue hydrangeas. Gather assorted trays, vases, and containers.  You may even have a few vintage or family pieces to use.  I added wet floral foam to the silver urn to stabilize the stems, but the others did not require it. I scattered some of the gorgeous foliage on the tray.  Another option is to add votives for an elegant evening  candlelight setting.  The two pitchers below were my Mother’s. The simple elegance of this tablescape brings instant gratification…

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

????????

Have a wonderful weekend!   I’m joining in the wedding celebration of a special couple.  Congratulations Chan and Sid!  Details to follow…

????????

6 thoughts on “THE ALLURE OF BLUE AND WHITE HYDRANGEAS

  1. you did a wonderful job displaying hydrangeas last night. Thanks for the tip on cutting early morning and putting in warm water.

    Connected by Motorola

  2. They are definitely a show we flower, and one of my favorites as well. Lovely photos, and you did a beautiful job arranging the table centerpiece! Thanks also for the tips on the best way to cut and condition hydrangeas — I learn something every time I visit your blog!

  3. Pingback: Back Yard Garden Early July | Ted,s Photographs

  4. Hi, Mary Lise, I too am a lover of hydrangeas. The one I’m sending is an Alice oakleaf, and they put on quite a show. The huge blossoms are white then turn to a dusty pink. You mentioned cutting some hydrangeas and putting them in urns. Last year, I planted 2 urns with Mini Penny hydrangeas, and they are beautiful this year! I enjoy your posts! Becky Byrd (Janet Loftin’s sister) Fayetteville, GA Date: Sat, 22 Jun 2013 13:28:50 +0000 To: beckybyrd2@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

