IT’S ALL ABOUT THE ROSES: TWO ROSE SHOWS YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS …

Calling all rosarians!  As Southern rose gardens are overflowing with their intoxicating blooms and fragrances the first of May, many local rose societies, in conjunction with the American Rose Society, are holding their annual shows.  And what a feast of eye candy!  Over the next week or so I plan to feature two rose shows:  the Wiregrass Rose Society here in Dothan, Alabama as well as a special rose show near and dear to my heart, the Northeast Mississippi Rose Show in Tupelo, Mississippi.

My Mother’s rose garden pictured several years ago.

Pontotoc landscape 002

Although I don’t have an English rose garden to boast about, my Knock Out roses are bursting forth in bloom.

????????

????????

Below are gorgeous blooms from the garden of Cathy Mayor in Dothan…

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

More breath-taking beauty from my neighbor, Maurine Johnston ..

???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

The Guildford garden in Hartford was featured on our local garden tour several years ago.  Here are just a few glimpses from their expansive country garden which is filled with hundreds of rose bushes..

??????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????

???????????????????????????

Preparing roses for a rose show is no easy feat!  I know the weeks of preparation that are required to produce show worthy specimens.  My Mother spent countless hours preparing her roses as well as freely giving out advice to fellow rosarians.  She knew just when to cut them, and had a treasure trove of specimens collected and stored in her storage room refrigerators for several days prior to the show.  Pictured below are roses from my Mother’s garden that my two sisters, Daddy and I prepared for the  2010 Northeast Mississippi Rose Show several months after her death.

???????? ????????

Entries are meticulously labeled for display and judging.  From heirloom to hybrid tea to Grandiflora to climbers, they are all spectacular!

????????

ROSES TAGGED AND READY FOR JUDGING AT THE MISSISSIPPI SHOW IN 2010

If you live in the Dothan area –

Wiregrass Rose Society’s 2013 Show

“A Tribute to Mothers”

Saturday, May 4, from 1-3:00 P.M.

First United Methodist Church, Family Life Center, 1380 West Main St., Dothan, AL

If you live in the Tupelo/North Mississippi area-

????????

“BEST OF SHOW” AT THE TUPELO SHOW, 2010

14th Annual Northeast Mississippi Rose Society Rose Show

Thursday, May 9

Lobby of Renasant Bank, 209 Troy Street, in Downtown Tupelo

10:00 A.M. – 3:00 P.M.

????????

????????

Check out a local rose show in your area, and get prepared to see some magnificent blooms. It may be  just the inspiration you need to start your own rose garden!  My Mother considered them the crown of God’s creation:  “Roses are the ultimate expressions of God’s creation.  You look at a rose and know that only God could make it.”

10 thoughts on “IT’S ALL ABOUT THE ROSES: TWO ROSE SHOWS YOU DON’T WANT TO MISS …

  1. DARLING, I AM AMAZED AT THE TALENT YOU HAVE AND YOUR PHOTOGRAPHIC ABILITY AS WELL. I AM INSPIRED BY THE BEAUTY AND YOUR HEART AS WELL. LOVE, HUBBY

  2. Lovely, Mary Lise! My Mom has grown hybrid tea roses as long as I can remember. She will be 80 this year and her rose garden is amazing. If you want to see it, let me know and I will take you to visit her!

    • I would love to see her garden, Christy! Let’s plan to go soon. I will be out of town most of this coming week, but will please tell her I’d like to come when I get back in town.

  3. wow beautiful roses, you know roses are one of my weaknesses, I have to really be careful not to impulse buy them like I almost did today, then I remembered how these hybrid teas are so hard to keep vibrant and alive through the winter despite coverage and care I better get the ones I have vibrant and beautiful first.lol.

  4. Such beauty displayed. This also.reminds me.of my sweet mother. She said ” nothing smells sweeter than a rose”

Leave a Reply

