A MIGHTY FORTRESS

Linda Dillow is a favorite Christian author of mine, and I have been encouraged by her writings for many years. Currently, I am reading one of her books entitled The Blessing Book.  She examines what  portraits of faith look like  in several of the Psalms as we confront trials and discouragement in our daily lives.  For instance in Psalm 84, she talks of walking through the ‘valley of weeping” and how it can be turned into a blessing.  Her advice is to give up relying on our own ways of manipulating circumstances and people because we will ultimately  find ourselves walking outside  of God’s will.  We must humbly bow to God and acknowledge:

I trust You …

I trust your ways…

I trust your timing …

I hide in You …

(The pictures shared in this post were made on a vacation to the Colorado Rockies a couple of years ago.)

???????????????????????????????

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;

my god is my rock, in whom I take refuge”.  (Psalm 18:2)

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

David found solace by visualizing himself in the refuge of a rock:  “For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling:  He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.”  (Psalm 27:5)

???????????????????????????????

Oh my God, “Be my rock of refuge, to which I can always go.”  (Psalm 71:3)

???????????????????????????????

Linda Dillow encourages us:  “…. no matter how much ash and smoke cloud your vision today, no matter if the mountains of your life are falling into the sea, your Rock of refuge will always be there.  Run into Him.  Hide in Him.”

???????????????????????????????

One of my favorite hymns,  “A Mighty Fortress Is Our God” written by Martin Luther around 500 years ago, was based on   Psalm 46.  He referred to fleeing into the refuge of God.  It reminds us that even in the midst of our greatest trials, He is there..

A mighty fortress is our God, A bulwark never failing;

Our helper he amid the flood Of mortal ills prevailing;”

???????????????????????????????

 

And, finally, look for the blessings……

???????????????????????????????

 

TRUST in His timing,

RELY on His promises,

WAIT on His answers,

BELIEVE in His miracles,

REJOICE in His goodness,

RELAX in His presence….

2 thoughts on “A MIGHTY FORTRESS

  1. Pingback: My rock, my fortress, my deliverer | daily meditation

  2. Pingback: Day 166: Psalms 68-71; Psalm of the ‘Forsaken’ | Overisel Reformed Church

Leave a Reply

