A MISSISSIPPI SPRING …..

Although I have lived in Alabama for almost 20 years, I always love spending time in my native state of Mississippi. Of course, I am partial to a small town in northeast Mississippi, called Pontotoc where I lived the first 18 years of my life. On two recent visits, the glories of spring were abundant everywhere. Golden cascading strands of jasmine and honeysuckle  were bursting into bloom along with forsythia,  Solomon’s seal, variegated Vinca, Dogwood blossoms and hostas.  The rose garden even showed signs of promise.   Butterflies, such magnificent winged inspirations of beauty, were dancing in the trees.    Spring time is a time to renew our hope and faith in life…

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

????????

???????? ????????

This bed of irises was designed by my Mother many years ago, and I think they originated from my great-grandmother’s garden. (The two pictures below were made a few years ago.)

Pontotoc landscape 001 Pontotoc landscape 002

 Solomon’s Seal is great for flower arranging, and is long-lasting.  I’ve heard someone refer to it as a “mini hosta”!

????????

Beautiful blooming Vinca..

????????

One of the rose beds…

????????

This pecan tree is the focal point of the backyard terrace.  What a lovely display of moss and fern…

???????? ????????

Hostas starting to bloom beneath the pecan tree…

????????

Beautiful dogwood blossoms in the front yard..

???????? ????????

A favorite tree, the Bodock…

????????

And just in case you missed the Japanese Magnolia from the last post…

????????

Lacey blooms of a Lorapetalum near the terrace.

  ????????

????????

????????

Thanks for taking a walk in my favorite Mississippi garden…..

14 thoughts on “A MISSISSIPPI SPRING …..

  1. The pictures are beautiful…If you don’t mind me asking, where at in Pontotoc were these taken. I live in Pontotoc (have all my life) and would love to ride by and admire.

  2. Thank you sharing. I’m from Pontotoc also and would love to see this in person and admire also if you don’t mind

  3. I knew at first glance where the pictures were taken. Your mother’s handy work makes Pontotoc a special place. Enjoyed the pictures. I try to keep check on your dad. Miss seeing his smile. Your mother is dearly missed. She was a very good sounding board for all of us. Thanks for posting. Ellen R

Leave a Reply

