A SPRING WONDER

The  last few days of glorious spring weather have been a welcome change!  These spring days are definitely a gift to the spirit. Around my neighborhood, God has certainly blessed us with some picturesque scenery. From my neighbor Maurine’s yard, cascades a heavenly and vibrant display of spring color. She graciously let me photograph this magnificent wonder! One of the pleasures of spring each year  is to anticipate  when this breath-taking cascade of wisteria, Loropetalum, and climbing Cherokee rose will  come over my fence!

The massive  proliferation of flowers and vines creates a “garden room” in  my yard…

????????

Look at this wonder of nature!  I believe it just gets prettier every year.

????????

???????? ???????? ???????? ????????

???????? ????????

Cherokee rose, a profuse climber, is often mistaken for dogwood since it blooms at the same time and in the same woodland areas.  This evergreen vine, with its grand floral display, is actually Georgia’s state flower,

????????

Below (top)  is a Loropetalum from my yard and two blooming in Maurine’s yard on the bottom.  A Southern garden staple, Loropetalum is also commonly known as the ‘Fringe Flower”.

???????? ????????

Below I did an arrangement in a weathered copper bird bath using cuttings of the Loropetalum, wisteria, and Cherokee rose.  This would make a whimsical design for a garden party, etc..

 Pre-soaked blocks of oasis were placed  in the bird bath.  Then I poured water over the blocks until the container was almost full.

????????

I loosely arranged wisteria around the base of the container.

????????

Then I added Macho fern, stems of the Cherokee rose and Loropetalum

????????

Below is the finished arrangement.

????????

    ????????

Thanks, Maurine, for opening your garden gate to my readers!

“EVERY GARDENER KNOWS THAT UNDER THE CLOAK OF WINTER LIES A MIRACLE … A SEED WAITING TO SPROUT, A BULB OPENING TO THE LIGHT, A BUD STRAINING TO UNFURL.  AND THE ANTICIPATION NURTUES OUR DREAM.”

Barbara Winkler

14 thoughts on “A SPRING WONDER

  1. Love the photo’s we are only 2 hrs from Dothan -I don’t think our yards on Panama City Beach look like this. It is very pretty. Thanks for sharing the photo’s.

  2. Thank you, Mary Lise, (and Maurine) for sharing the Wonders of Spring! I’m getting inspired out here in the country (although my green thumb and I have a long way to go) and will enjoy following your blog for much more inspiration. God Bless!

  3. The wonders of spring are truly amazing, thanks to both of you for sharing this beautiful garden. Mary Lise, thanks for your blog – its like taking a Garden Tour without leaving the house!

    Starla

Leave a Reply

