Limelight Hydrangea: The Garden Gift that Gives All Year Round

120713_0001 (1)

The Limelight hydrangea’s vibrant lime green to almost white blooms is without a doubt my favorite hydrangea and my favorite flower in general.  If I could have only one blooming plant in my yard, it would, hands down, be this stunning, show stopper hydrangea!  In fact, I almost have an obsession with them.  I first planted some about 5 years ago, and every year I add additional ones to my garden.  They are super easy to maintain (with lots of help from our yard maintenance and landscape design service, Lakewood Landscape Group: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Lakewood-Landscape-Group/105033939562913?fref=ts  Each year I can hardly wait to decorate with the bounty of dried hydrangea that was harvested in the summer and fall.  They are gorgeous in simple basket displays and I couldn’t do without them combined with fresh bittersweet in the fall, greenery for Christmas decorating, and for spring arrangements.  I have displays of them in several rooms of my home.

They outperform most of the other hydrangeas, and it is not surprising, they have received many accolades.  Here are a few to note:  Pennsylvania Horticulture Society Gold Medal, Country Living Gardener Editor’s Choice, 2008 royal Horticulture Society Award of Garden Merit, PHS Gold Medal Award, and the 2007 Association of Cut Flowers “cut flower of the year” award.

Here are a few facts to note about the limelight hydrangea:

1.  Hardiness:  USDA Zones 3-8

2.  Foilage:  Dark Green, can grow up to 6-8 Feet.

3.  Soil:  Prefers good, loamy soil

4.  Pruning:  Late fall or early spring

5.  Watering:  Medium moisture.  Once established, they are drought tolerant.

6.  Fertilizing:  Fertilize in early spring with a slow release fertilizer.

7.  Exposure:  Full sun to light shade.

8.  They bloom on new wood so prune or cut often.

As I mentioned earlier, the limelight’s blooms are gifts to use and appreciate all year long. The best time to cut them for arranging is early morning or evening. My Mother always taught me to “condition” them by placing in a bucket of warm water before arranging them. The best way to dry them is to let nature take care of the drying process. I have had the best luck gathering them when the blooms are a little past peak. The blooms will have a paper like texture when they are ready. Sometimes my blooms dry naturally in arrangements after a few weeks. A few years ago, I attempted to dry another variety of hydrangeas according to Martha Stewart protocol.  After gathering the hydrangeas and stripping the leaves, I bundled them up with twine, and hung them upside down in the attic.  To my disappointment, after a couple of weeks I found they had become practically charred by the effects of lower Alabama’s sweltering heat!

I hope you will enjoy these images that I have taken using limelight hydrangeas – the garden gift that keeps on giving!

???????????

Another view of my hydrangea “garden” several months ago.

I

Dried hydrangeas in a planter crafted of bark. This stays inside, but was photographed outside.

I

Dried limelight blooms several months after harvesting.

The next four arrangements were done last summer to celebrate a sweet couple’s wedding at our family’s home in Mississippi. I cut them a day before traveling with them to Mississippi.

_0005
_0006

_0001 _0003

120214_0001

Above and below pictures show dried limelight displays.

I


This is a great time to plant some limelight hydrangeas in your yard. By mid-June, you will delight in the bounty of breath taking blooms..

5 thoughts on “Limelight Hydrangea: The Garden Gift that Gives All Year Round

  1. Absolutely beautiful! Thanks so much for sharing! They remind me of oakleaf hydrangeas except they are more compact…and they have a hint more green than the oakleaf

  2. Pingback: TIME FOR THE LIMELIGHTS | beautifulgardener

Leave a Reply

